47 Weir Street
Taunton, MA 02780
(508) 692-9586
The Ugly Duckling TauntonAbout The Ugly Duckling TauntonUgly Duckling MenuUgly Duckling DealsDirections to Ugly DucklingContact Ugly Duckling
We Have KenoLike us on facebookLeave us a good word!

Reviews

Below we have listed some of the reviews that have been posted about our restaurant. If you would like to post a review please use yelp or google or you can send us feedback directly by visiting our contact page.


Chris R.
Taunton, MA
5.0 star rating
7/9/2015

Stopped into this place because they had trivia. Was really surprised by the decor, quaintness, cleanliness and food. It really was excellent. It's small, but really worth the trip. Great bar scene, good food and the staff is wonderful.
Bri M.
East Taunton, MA
5.0 star rating
1/8/2015

Absolutely love this place! Food is great (order the med wings! Yum! They take awhile to come out, so place your order as soon as you get in!), staff is really friendly.. And drinks are always amazing! Turns into more of a bar scene at night time, but go before 6/7 and its a great restaurant!
Robert S.
Marshfield, MA
5.0 star rating
11/11/2014

Absolutely awsome food. Great atmosphere and very friendly service. Add all of that to great daily specials and deals that don't hurt your wallet u would have to say you get a great value at the ugly duck. Favorite sandwich is chicken Ranchero bu the way but don't take my word for it bc it's all good.
Teresa J.
Hudson, MA
5.0 star rating
10/21/2014

I have to admit, I was skeptical by the appearance outside but was pleasantly surprised as soon as I walked in. Nice and very clean. The food was out of this world. Had the bar pizzas and the geek salad. Finished off with the fried Oreos. Incredible specials during the week. Drinks were on point. Can't wait to come back. Highly recommend.
Lana S.
Raynham, MA
5.0 star rating
7/5/2014

My new favorite place. The food is fresh and delicious... You have to try the mediterranean wings... YUM. The staff is great, so friendly and the drinks are the best. Put a quarter in the music box and hang out at the bar!
Bob G.
Middleborough, MA
5.0 star rating
12/5/2013

Quaint little place that has delicious offerings! Fresh ingredients and something for everyone on the menu. The best antipasto I've ever enjoyed! It's loaded with salami, prosciutto, sun dried tomatoes soaked with olive oil, roasted red peppers, pickled red onions, artichoke hearts, roasted garlic, olives, and provolone cheese. Finished with a balsamic vinegar reduction. ...delicious!!! Also had the Portuguese little necks which also hit the spot. Try the specials....I had a thai chicken wrap that was incredible! I'll definitely be back to visit this hidden jewel!
Jen V.
Taunton, MA
5.0 star rating
11/18/2013

Don't let the location fool you. I would rate this as one of the top three restaurants in Taunton, maybe even #1. The bartenders are friendly, the place is cozy and always fantastically clean, and the sangria is delicious. And the food! Oh, the food! I would categorize the food as Second Generation Portuguese food, meaning there's a great mix of regular American pub food done well, along with dishes featuring portuguese ingredients, like linguica, but made in more of an American/Spanish style. The food is truly fantastic and usually the presentation and flavor rivals fine dining restaurants, but with bigger portions. Really, if you haven't tried it here, you should. I'd prefer to choose this over a bland chain restaurant. The only thing that stops me from going here more is that I always seem to go when it's closed or when it would be more of a bar crowd. It's perfectly fine to bring kids here during the day, but I'd stay away from about 7 p.m. on, when it's more of a bar.


Michael M.
Boston, MA
4.0 star rating
10/24/2013

Good drinks and food, great staff, make this a good place to go to if you're in town. Only bad thing is the parking situation on certain nights can be crazy!


Linda H.
Jamaica Plain, MA
4.0 star rating
4/3/2012

A couple of my friends and I wound up here for dinner on a Friday night. First off, it's a seat yourself kind of place. My friend and I walked in and stood around for about a minute before the waitress came by and told us to sit wherever we like. The patrons are nice though -- someone must've thought we wanted to sit at the bar, because they were going to give up their seat.

Second, go hungry....especially if you're ordering a pizza or a salad. They give you pretty good sized portions. My favorite dish of the night though was the seafood empanadas.

Finally, go early. When we got there around 7:30pm, there were tables available, but by the time 8pm rolled around, most of the tables around us were gone. It gets a little loud too, but the atmosphere's nice.


Kerrie F.
Hanson, MA
4.0 star rating
4/22/2012

As a foodie stuck in suburbia, it can be extraordinarily difficult to find independent eateries that offer flavorful food with a decent atmosphere. A friend recommended that I check out the Ugly Duckling in Taunton, and I consider myself very fortunate to have discovered this place!

This restaurant is located right off of Taunton green in the center of the city, which makes it convenient if one is looking to check out any other bars or businesses as well. We went here on a Friday night and were pleasantly surprised that we could seat ourselves and there were tables open. Because it was a Friday night, there was a man there playing live music, which made it difficult to converse with my friend and boyfriend. Although the song choices were hit or miss with me, the musician playing was talented and also had a great sense of humor.

Now, let's get to the real reason for this review, the drinks and the food. They have several unique drink offerings. I tried the Rock Candy Martini. The drink was decent enough, but my boyfriend ordered a Raspberry Mojito (they have Mojitos, along with several flavors to choose from), and his drink was definitely tastier than mine. It tasted like an alcoholic lime rickey, so I will be ordering this drink from now on. As for the menu, it looks small at first, but do not be fooled, there are many options available. They offer many items, including pub pizza and sandwiches, but what really made me happy was that they also had Portuguese dishes on the menu. For my meal, I ordered the Linguica and Cheese Empanadas with a side salad. The side salad -- awesome. Want to know why? It was made with mixed greens and not iceberg lettuce! (which makes a huge difference to me) I ordered the Italian dressing which complemented the greens perfectly and still made plenty of room left for my Empanadas. My Empanadas were delectable. The Linguica was extremely savory and cooked just right; the cheese was used in moderation and did not smother the meat so that I could taste both equally. Also, they were baked to perfection and did not sit heavily in my stomach after I finished my meal. I left full, but not bloated.

I look forward to frequenting this restaurant in the future, as that is a guarantee.


C S.
Yuma, AZ
5.0 star rating
12/30/2012

Inexpensive drinks, good food, fun atmosphere, and friendly staff!


Brian C.
Taunton, MA
5.0 star rating
5/13/2011

service was good, food was excellent. only downside is there is no draft beer. got the steak and cheese sandwich which was amazing. attention to detail is taken with every food order. my entire family had an excellent meal


Kevin S.
Taunton, MA
4.0 star rating
10/25/2010

I've been going to the Ugly Duckling a couple of times a month since they opened and it is simply great.

It's a wonderful place to stop in for a few drinks after work, or to stay for dinner.

Don't be put off by what might appear to be a small menu. It is pretty eclectic, and the food is fantastic!.

The service there, even on a crowded & busy Saturday night is wonderful. The bartenders and waitstaff are some of the friendliest around, and the ambiance is wonderful. I'm looking forward to them finishing the renovations for the function rooms in the back so that i can use that for an office function!


N K.
Boston, MA
5.0 star rating
8/20/2010

Great find in downtown Taunton. Tried the Ugly Duckling this past Tuesday and glad we did. Food was excellent and the prices are in the ball park.

Great atmosphere and eclectic menu especially for downtown which has little to offer these days.

Hours are 3PM -1AM so no lunch service.


wendy m.
5.0 star rating

Lots of healthy Mediterranean fresh homemade items and great martinis great environment excellent non commercial addition to the Taunton area.


Iron thoughts
5.0 star rating

I love this place! The owners are very hospitable to thier clients as well. Thier spicy chicken wings are the best!


sarah p
5.0 star rating

The staff is very accommodating. I really enjoyed the music and the service. I will definitely come back again


5.0 star rating

The staff, atmosphere, and prices are great. This place is definitely new to the scene and it's a great addition to the area. Everyone here minds their business and is just the right amount of friendly. No riff raff either which is a huge plus ...More


4.0 star rating

Friendly atmosphere....good food...clean restaurant...nice toilets


* We reserve the right to not post any reviews we deem inappropriate for our website. The reviews above have been chosen to show a posative attitude and what happy customers thought of our establishment. We will not post any reviews that include fowl language or we deem not portraying our restaurant, staff or patrons in a posative light. If you would like to see all the reviews on our restaurant visit the review sites. Have a nice day!
Home | About Us | Menu | Ducky Deals | Directions | Reviews | Contact

© 2014 - 2017 The Ugly Duckling Restaurant & Bar

Website Design & Hosting by Stellar Web Production